NaNo the Third – 2018

Nano.png AGAIN? IT IS TIME TO PLAN FOR NANO AGAIN?? ARGH!!! OKAY, I WILL DO IT! So it really isn’t all that much drama to get me to take this plunge. In truth I have changed my writing ways to plan 6-9 months out and Nano was squarely in my sights when I completed this year’s April A-Z Challenge.

I stumbled upon this idea last year when I used the A to Z Challenge to lay out the framework, let’s even call it an outline, of a historical fiction novel. I had full intentions of making it my third Nano effort, but summer came along and all the historical research I felt necessary to give it an authentic feel surrendered to mowing the grass, planting and picking the beans and the considerable stable of flowers we maintain and grow.

Fast forward to April of 2018 and one of the germs of an idea, actually a character and story I have been mentally developing, yes that is a process, got her treatment. The main character is a psychologically troubled master detective with so many issues it is a wonder she can function. This will be the subject of the 2018 NaNo try.

Nano

My last successful attempt was in 2016, when I took two characters I consider my franchise team and wrote over 70,000 words within the 30 day confines. While this novel is still in development, that many words in place put it very close to a marketable commodity. The next steps in finding an editor and agent are still something I have lots to learn about, but in NaNo there is so many reference resources made available as well as the chance to talk with experienced and published authors.

I like the feature on the NANO website where you can tie in with buddies and share the experience. Everyone needs encouragement and I enjoy giving it, so this option suits many needs. Why not share your experience where you could possibly build a lifelong writing friend? Yes, we are known as the Warriors of Solitude but only because there are so few of us around we don’t connect much. As in all endeavors however, sharing is a way to make it better. I know some of you visiting will be donning your NaNo gear, including the insane attitude needed to withstand the grins, so give me a yell and let’s get through it together.

Oh, I almost forgot this. If you would like to get a sneak peek at what I will write about you can take a look at the April 2018 A to Z Challenge posts about Chasing Red Silent. Just follow this link: Chasing Red Silent

nano2018
Source: nanowrimo.org

Leave a comment