Late For Your own Engagement Jilly – Friday Fictioneers – 10-06-17

 

 

FF100617
Photo copyright – Ted Strutz

 

It was the perfect place, and the perfect time. He even had Uncle Ted’s blessing, not just to use the boat, but to ask the girl. Uncle Ted had been his replacement family after the awful incident that claimed his parents. Yes, it would be perfect. . . if Jilly was on time.

To say she could be late was like saying a turtle could beat a hare, but probably wouldn’t. Kyle had studied the moon rise chart for weeks, hoping to mitigate Jilly’s lateness and still have the moon when he proposed.

He checked his watch as the orb moved upward.


 

 

 

frific

 

 

Insecure Writer’s Support Group – 10/04/17

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time – and return comments. This group is all about connecting! Be sure to link to this page and display the badge in your post.
For those who visited my ISWG post in September you may notice a repeat of many words. That is because I am taking a two part approach to searching for writing buddies for the most exciting part of the year. No, I don’t mean the impending holiday season. It starts as a whisper early in the year and develops into a full scream by mid-October. NANO! NANO! NANOWRIMO!
Nano
Being a novelist I knew of this phenomenon and the ridiculous premise. Write a book, or at least 50,000 words of it within a short 30 day time frame. I tried unsuccessfully in 2015, falling victim to a couple of problems, sickness and the beginning of an international mission trip that left NO time to write. But in 2016 I had a better plan and I thumped NaNo’s minimum threshold 10 days early and ended up just north of 70,000 words.
While the experience was great from a writing accomplishment point of view it was mostly a solitary affair. Sure I tried to find Buddies as they are called on the NaNoWriMo site to share the journey, but only 2 of the 8 I befriended managed to complete the month. Then I got to thinking about this monthly collection of serious writers and I thought “Oh yeah, that is prime recruiting ground!”
So I am hear to solicit partners who will join with me in the NaNo endeavor this year. I tried really hard to encourage my buddies and also to post encouraging words on Twitter using the hashtag #Encourageawriter. But for the most part Twitter exchanges were one-sided brag fests or solicitations for pity because the Pantsing was overtaking the Planning.
A2Z-BADGE [2017]
I wish the experience to be different this year and I believe you fine folks that frequent the #IWSG are just the quality Buddies I want for this year’s attempt. I have my premise well-established in my head thanks tot he 30 day A to Z Blogging Challenge where I mapped out characters, setting and plot of a historical novel.
So who would be willing to be encouraging and receive encouragement and real questions about the progress of your novel in a month madness? If you do either comment at the end of this or send me a message somehow.
Have you made good friends as a result of this monthly gathering? Who is your best writing contemporary? Do you live close to each other or have an online connection?
insecure-writers-support-group-badge