When Trust is Absent – Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers – 6/13/17

FFfAW061317

Picture copyright Majesticgoldenrose

“What is the purpose?” Liz asked. She stood with her arms crossed. the usual signal of her body language that meant she wasn’t inclined to agree with John’s words.

“The purpose? To complete a marriage license. You know, the paper we have to have to make our dreams a reality.”

“I mean what is the purpose of getting married? You cheated before. Are you really expecting me to believe a piece of paper will stop that from repeating?” Liz replied with a scowl of indignation.

“I didn’t cheat,” John protested. “You saw something innocent and made it more than it was.”

“You know the look of impropriety can be just as bad as reality.”

“Don’t you trust me?”

“Honestly I am not sure anymore,” Liz said.

wpid-photo-20150517131724273

 

