Insecure Writer’s Support Group – 05/03/17

Purpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time – and return comments. This group is all about connecting! Be sure to link to this page and display the badge in your post.
survivor-atoz [2017] v1
I am another of the bloggers who took the A to Z plunge in April. I understand why some people don’t want to try this. It can be too daunting, trying to match up 26 topics with the alphabet letter in a span of 30 days. But I managed to do it as I brainstormed my newest project, a historical fiction novel. In truth I found it very helpful in mapping out the course of my novel. When the flag flies on National Novel Writing Month I will be as ready as I ever have.
But as big a reason for joining the A to Z Challenge for me is to meet others. Blogging is such a solitary experience unless you have plenty of visitors who are willing to read and comment in a way beyond “nice post” or “good story”. Sorry if I come off picky or even needy, but I try to give valuable feedback or some kind of meaningful comment when I visit a blog. I found at least 26 new bloggers to follow and read last month, including several who have practical experience publishing, editing and writing good stories.
Each month group poses a question to the participants. This is the question for this month:
What is the weirdest/coolest thing you ever had to research for your story?
This question is geared toward a past project I suppose, but I think the coolest research will be what I have to do for the project I mentioned above. My new novel will be set in the mid-1860s. It involves a steam locomotive and a lumber & sawmill business. There will be a long list of items I will have to learn about to make sure my novel fits the time period.
Not only that, but I love dialogue in my writing and I will have to be very sure I keep modern slang and references out of the story. I might wish I had a device like Alexa before I am done so that I could ask when this or that became popular. I think overall it will be a fun experience however.
I look forward to meeting more #IWSG peeps. I am always glad to rub elbows with others whose minds are preoccupied with plots, settings, characters and story telling like mine.
insecure-writers-support-group-badge
10 thoughts on “Insecure Writer’s Support Group – 05/03/17

  1. Welcome aboard! I also did the A-to-Z blog hop this year, which is a huge time sink not just because of writing the posts, but of visiting and commenting on so many posts as well. As you said, you want to leave some kind of worthwhile feedback, but that takes even more time, so…
    Anyway, I’m rambling. Good luck with your story!
    IWSG May

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If you haven’t already, you might want to check out Google ngrams. You enter a word or words, and it searches through books and historical documents to find how frequently those words were used in print during different time periods. I use it a lot when I’m researching the history of scientific terms.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you–I’m pretty picky about the blogs I choose to follow, and I want to be able to say something more than just “great post!” on my comment. 😉 Good job in completing the A to Z challenge, I did it a few years back and found it challenging. This year I chose to focus on my current WIP and those revisions, as I’m hopelessly behind!

    As for your research, I don’t have any tips, but that’s the very reason I hesitate to write anything set too far in the past! I like to learn, but I’m not a big history buff by any means and the sheer amount of research I would have to do is far too intimidating for me right now. 🙂 Good luck with your story!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

