Cornucopia of Trouble – FF – 02/03/17

ff020317.png
Photo Copyright Roger Bultot

 

Perry strained to see what Alicia pointed to seven stores below.

“I can’t see it!” Perry declared.

“Here use the binoculars,” she said.

Perry peered through the black device and nodded acceptance.

“Blue is ten points, green is fifteen, red is fifty. If you can catch a pedestrian it is 200!”

“I know your mom said to clean out the old fruit from your fridge, but . . .”

“Don’t be a chicken! Are you afraid a girl will beat you?”

“Never going to happen,” Perry said with a tight smile. “You first”

“Oh no!” Alicia said as she dropped her melon, “There’s mom!”

friday-fictioneers

IWSG – 2/1/17 – How has being a writer changed your experience as a reader?

insecure-writers-support-group-badgeThis is my initial response as part of the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. It is not because I am an anomaly, one of those writer’s who exudes so much confidence I never doubt my ability. No, in truth I am just as full of questions about my ability as anyone who puts together a collection of letters with the hopes it will be recognized as a work of art as anyone.

I have been blogging on WordPress for about 4 1/2 years, so I have seen the IWSG logo for a while now. Why I have not taken the initiative to join before this time is one of those questions with an easy answer. No one wants to admit their doubts. None of us willingly steps up to declare that the possibility of irrelevance scares us into submission too often. But I am growing as a writer as I cross the many hurdles that are real and imagined. I want to rub elbows with other doubters as I also connect with those who have won the battles that lay before me.

I also want to answer the question posed this month: How has being a writer changed your experience as a reader? I think it has made me more critical. I see more plot holes as I look at other works. This includes movies and television as well. I can distinctly remember a plot hole in a television series I loved and still to this day I think about it. It is not very often I will stop reading a book, or watching a program or movie, but it does happen, usually because something is either so out of place or the plot just does not capture my attention.

I find myself taking mental notes now when I read authors I really like, taking apart their characters and plot devices to see how they tick. I want to be able to make such a good story that my readers will crave more of my writing. I expect all the best writers operate this way, so why not follow their lead?

I enjoy any opportunity to connect with others in this solitary world of writing. While it can be a lonely pursuit, opportunities like this narrow down the field of folks to ones willing to share a piece of their world. It is difficult to share your struggles with those who do not face similar obstacles or challenges. They just look at you like they are thinking “why do that to yourself?” Because I have that desire burning deep inside me, although you cannot see it or understand it, I think.

So I think that will do it for my first IWSG post. I look forward to meeting all of you over time and who knows what kind of connections I might make here?