If No One Stops We’ll All Be Late – FF – 01/13/17

 

FF011317.png

Four engines raced for the Penley River Yard. Engine 206, 315, 835 and 999. First there would win a ten-year freight contract.

“Four engines racing together,” Perkins fretted.

“No one has my guts,” 206 Engineer Fred remarked. “They’ll stop.”

“Never been late, not starting today,” 315 Engineer said.

“There’s two kinds of late,” Fireman Rob noted.

“I don’t think they’ll stop,” 835 Engineer shook his head.

“Ten years of work is a lot,” Fireman John agreed.

“Ready with the brake?” 999 Engineer Jake asked.

“At this speed it would take a mile!” Fireman Alex worried.

Mayor Kramer swallowed hard as the reality sunk in. A really bad idea.

*************************************************************************

I am one year on from the decision to begin a new hobby, one deferred while raising the kids with much more demands on time. Now I have a model railroad coming together in my basement. This picture immediately generated so many ideas, but this is the one I liked the most.

If any of you Fictioneers are also model railroad folks let me know, I am excited to connect with others who have knowledge to share.

 

 

18 thoughts on “If No One Stops We’ll All Be Late – FF – 01/13/17

  1. On the old TV show “The Addams Family,” the head of the household Gomez was always arranging his model train set so that two locomotives would collide. At the point of collision, he planted explosives and set them off at just the right moment.

    I always wanted to try that as a kid.

    Like

  2. Dear Joe,

    I remember my brother had a Lionel train when we were small. I was kind of jealous, but then, I had a Chatty Cathy who was voiced by the same woman who voiced Talking Tina in the TZ. Nothing to do with anything. 😉 I fear that race will come to a crashing end.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

