2015 A to Z – C- Fiction from the Letter C – Chicago Took My . . .

Welcome to the Fiction Playground! This is day three of the 2015 A to Z Challenge, in which bloggers all over the world embark on a 26 part quest to deliver a post tied to each letter of the alphabet. Yours truly, in keeping with the fiction theme established here will make a stab at 26 flash fiction stories. Flash Fiction is anything 2000 words or less, so perhaps I should say it will tend to be more like micro fiction. Regardless I will not try to fill out 2000 words. I think 400 or less will keep me within the A to Z guidelines.

So what make this such a challenge for me? After all I write A LOT of fiction. I have enlisted the assistance of two friends to make this more of a fun effort. One, named Chris Duncan is a fiction editor for a literary journal. He has graciously agreed to deliver unique prompts tied to each letter of the alphabet. I will only pull these out the day they are to be posted so i do not have time to think about a potential story.

Keeping in the family theme I also partnered with Chris’ daughter, Hannah, a budding photographer. Hannah has just recently completed a showing of her work at a local gallery and is in the trumpet section of the local high school band with my daughter. I love the unique perspective Hannah has in her photography and asked Chris to coordinate pictures of hers with the prompts he chose for me. Below you can see a picture of the three of us during a recent band trip to Chicago for the Saint Patrick’s Day parade. I am on the right, which of course leaves Chris to the left and Hannah as the rose between the thorns.

205

I invite you to return each day to see Chris’ brilliant prompts, Hannah’s beautiful pictures and my fiction concoctions tied to each unique prompt.

*****************************

Day 3 – Chicago took my dreams and my last ten bucks

copyright – Hannah Duncan 2015

Chicago took my dreams and my last ten bucks. I felt like the big city was the place I had always been missing in my life. From the moment the skyscrapers came into view I felt at home. Most of my friends and family told me I was making a huge mistake, but I believed in something more. There was another whole book of chapters in my life and I believed Chicago was where this story was set.

But that was before I met her. Fiona Meyers, a twenty-something Irish beauty, fresh from her first Trans-Atlantic journey cast her spell that first night on the Lake Michigan dinner cruise. I was warned about a Singles Cruise and took great pains to prepare myself, but that flowing auburn hair and those emerald eyes just threw me off my game. From the moment her beautiful face caught my eye I was smitten.

Wooing her was all I could think of and do. She was with me all the time and we had a whirlwind time seeing the city. It felt as though I had won the Lotto, sporting such a beauty with me as I criss-crossed  all the Windy City hot-spots. What I didn’t see was the  plan she had to take me for all I had. I should have seen the signs, I mean everything went so smoothly, too smoothly. She was everything I had ever wanted and dreamed of and I should have felt a little trepidation about that. But I didn’t, because I felt I was due.

So now I stand here waiting for my flight to be called. A one way ticket paid for by mom to bring me back home.  I may not get another chance to do this, but I guess one failed chance is better than none at all.

3 thoughts on “2015 A to Z – C- Fiction from the Letter C – Chicago Took My . . .

Leave a Reply

