Monday’s Finish the Story – March 9, 2015

Flash Fiction is a tricky thing, in that you have a limited amount of words to lay out the scene, setting, plot and rise and climax. It definitely helps sharpen my writing, I can see that. So, all this introduction to confirm I have found another: Monday’s Finish the Story hosted by Barbara Beacham. This iteration gives a little bit different direction with a 150 word limit and an opening line with the photo prompt.

I will let you off the hook this time and leave the Puxatawney Phil saga alone for this one since I got a different idea from the photo. Let me know what you think please, feedback makes my writing better!

copyright – Barbara Beacham

 

Finish the story begins with: “On March 9th, 2015, three objects were reportedly seen in the skies over the Borracho Todos los Tiempos Vineyards.”

Here we go:

On March 9th, 2015, three objects were reportedly seen in the skies over the Borracho Todos los Tiempos Vineyards. Kelly Pettis, reporter from the Caney Valley Tribune arrived barely minutes after the strange lights disappeared. She interviewed visitors within the vineyards eager to share their ideas about what happened.

“It was aliens, it was!” a small Hispanic woman declared. “Flew in from that direction,” she said pointing north.

“It was Uncle Sam,” a Viet Nam vet said. He tugged at his too small leather vest arrayed with patches from his time of service. “Some of them there droids!”

“I think you mean drones?” Kelly suggested.

“That’s it!” spying on us just like the VC.”

Every interview uncovered a new potential explanation. Only when she talked to the vintner did the truth come clear.

“We opened a new vintage last evening. Promised to be stout enough to make you see stars!”

7 thoughts on “Monday’s Finish the Story – March 9, 2015

  1. That sounds like a very good vintage! I love all the different theories. I thought you might like to know that you’ve got a stray speech mark in the last line of speech from the Vietnam vet. 🙂

    Like

      1. That’s never good! I hope you manage to sort it out soon. My fingers just tend to wander in strange direction as I type… I’m always finding stray letters and symbols. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

